

January 9, 2024 Minutes of the General Business Meeting Ridgefield, WA

Call to Order and Opening Remarks

Meeting called to order by Vice-Chairwoman Sami Jo Difuntorum at 8:40 AM.

Welcome and Invocation

A welcome and invocation was provided by Cowlitz Tribal Chairwoman Patty Kinswa-Gaiser.

Roll Call

- NWIHA Secretary Diana Phair called the roll of members in good standing (2024 dues paid).
- Members Present for Roll Call: Colville, CLUSI, Coquille, Cowlitz, Grand Ronde, Klamath, Lower Elwha, Lummi, Metlakatla, Muckleshoot, Nez Perce, Nooksack (Proxy), Port Gamble, Puyallup, Siletz, Skokomish, Spokane, Squaxin Island (Proxy), Swinomish, Tulalip, Warm Springs, and Yakama.
- With 21 members present for Roll Call, out of 36 paid members, Sami Jo declared a quorum was established. NOTE: there were several other paid members, including Burns Paiute, Makah, and Upper Skagit who arrived after Roll Call.

Introductions: Those in attendance were given the opportunity to introduce themselves.

Approval of the Agenda

- **MOTION** made by Anne Cook (Coquille) to approve the agenda as presented; second by Joan Dugger (Grand Ronde). Motion approved without objection.
- **MOTION** made by Diana Phair to approve the Consent Agenda items; seconded by Kenneth Ruthardt (Klamath). Motion approved without objection. The Consent Agenda included:
 - Approval of Minutes of Business Meeting September 12, 2023.
 - o Approval of Statement of Activities for 12 months ending December 31, 2023.
 - o Approval of Statement of Financial Position as of December 31, 2023.

NAIHC Update: Sami Jo Difuntorum, NAIHC Liaison, and Douglas Marconi, Sr., Alternate Liaison

- Highlights included an update of the NAIHC Director hiring process, a summary of upcoming NAIHC events, and a summary of legislative updates.
- The legislative topic was updated regarding the passage of the spending bill by Congress.
- Douglas pointed out the disparity between funding of public and Indian housing programs (a ratio of approximately \$100 to \$1)
- See the NAIHC 2023 Q4 Update in the Members Only section of the <u>NWIHA website</u> for

complete information.

ATNI Update: Shonn Leno (Grand Ronde)

- Shonn provided a summary of the ATNI Mid-year Convention held in Grand Mound, WA.
- The next ATNI meeting will be held January 29, 2024.
- Sami Jo explained how the NWIHA resolution process works in conjunction with ATNI and NCAI.
- See the *ATNI Committee Report* in the Members Only Section of the <u>NWIHA website</u> for complete information.

AMERIND Update: Derek Valdo (Amerind CEO)

- Derek summarized the AMERIND Executive Summary report provided to the membership.
- Due to fire losses exceeding the 20% ratio, Region 6 will not be receiving an incentive payment in 2024.
- AMERIND will be having their annual meeting in Nashville, TN, November 3-8, 2024. For the
 first time in many years AMERIND's meeting will not be a joint meeting with NAIHC's annual
 meeting.
- Due to projected losses in the AMERIND NAHASDA and Native American Homeowners' and Renters' IHBG insurance program, AMERIND tribal clients can expect rate increases over the next several years in their housing insurance rates.
- NWIHA members were reminded to be sure their housing inventory is adequately insured to allow for losses, i.e. replacement cost vs. original cost.
- See the *Amerind Liaison* and *Amerind Executive Summary* in the Members Only Section of the NWIHA website for complete information.

Executive Director Training Curriculum Project: Brandi Liberty (Luak Group)

- Brandi Liberty provided an overview of Luak's role for the project. In addition to Brandi, Krystal Cedeno, Annalee Trujillo, and Tal Moore will be the Luak team providing the contract services.
- One of the first tasks has been to to do a Needs Assessment and Survey of the current housing directors of NWIHA. Luak Group has been contacting the membership with this information.
- See the *Luak Report* in the Members Only Section of the <u>NWIHA website</u> for complete information.

2024 Bylaws Revisions: Charles Anderson and Ed Goodman (Hobbs Straus Dean and Walker)

- Charles provided an overview of the revision process to date, and Ed provided a summary of the legal review of the revisions.
- There was a concern made by Richard Arthur (Nez Perce) that he had not had an opportunity to review the revisions. It was explained that all notification procedures had been followed as required.

• **MOTION** made by Joan Dugger (Grand Ronde) to approve the Bylaws as presented; second by Anne Cook (Coquille). Motion approved with two abstentions.

Executive Committee Vacancies

- With the resignation of Chairwoman Laurie Ann Cloud, according to the Bylaws a new Chair needs to be appointed at the next Regular Meeting.
- MOTION made by Anne Cook (Coquille) to approve the appointment of Sami Jo Difuntorum to be the Chairwoman for the remainder of Laurie Ann's term (expiring September 17, 2024); second by Ama Tuato'o (Muckleshoot). Motion approved without objection.
- MOTION made by Joan Dugger (Grand Ronde) to approve the appointment of Douglas Marconi, Sr. (Colville) be the Vice Chairman to serve the remainder of Sami Jo's term (expiring September 17, 2024); second by Marnita Parr (Spokane). Motion approved without objection.
- There were four volunteers to fill the two At-Large Executive Committee member positions. In fairness, the four names were placed in a hat and two names were drawn from the hat. The two names drawn were Jenee Redecker (Cowlitz) and Kara Horton (Port Gamble S'Klallam).

MOTION made and seconded to approve the appointment of Jenee Redecker (Cowlitz) and Kara Horton (Porton Gamble) to serve as At-Large members of the Executive Committee for the term expiring September 17,2024. Motion approved without objection.

Meeting Presentations: Presentations were provided by Joseph Diehl (Surviving Burnout and Staff Dysfunction), representatives of the NwONAP (GEMS and HUD updates), Kenneth Ruthardt and Tim Mahern-Macias (Klamath/OHCS Housing Project). These presentations can be found on the NWIHA website.

MOTION made and seconded to adjourn the meeting at 4:37 PM. Motion approved without objection.